Latest Book

Available August 16th, 2022

Preorder: Direct | Amazon | Bookshop
Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

What came first, the home or the desire to invade?

A seasoned invader with multiple home invasions under their belt recounts their dark victories while offering tutelage to a new generation of ambitious home invaders eager to make their mark on the annals of criminal history. From initial canvasing to home entry, the reader is complicit in every strangling and shattered window. The fear is inescapable.

Examining the sanctuary of the home and one of the horror genre’s most frightening tropes, Anybody Home? points the camera lens onto the quiet suburbs and its unsuspecting abodes, any of which are potential stages for an invader ambitious enough to make it the scene of the next big crime sensation. Who knows? Their performance just might make it to the silver screen.

PRAISE FOR ANYBODY HOME?

“Harrowing and tremendously upsetting, Anybody Home? flips the home invasion genre on its head for a new generation of readers. I felt like I was reading something I shouldn’t have been reading. You’ll be checking your locks regularly after reading this nasty little morsel.”
—Eric LaRocca, author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke

“A bone-chilling, immersive horror novel that explores fear, obsession, voyeurism, and senseless violence. Seidlinger takes an ax to the illusion of suburban safety. Unsettling, unflinching, and unforgettable. Anybody Home? is one of the most terrifying books I’ve ever read.”
—Rachel Harrison, author of Cackle and Such Sharp Teeth

“Michael J. Seidlinger is a true innovator. The narrative shards of Anybody Home? cascade over the reader in a collage of troubling, sometimes half-seen images, and the wicked, insinuating, deeply unsettling voice weaves through the back of your mind and crouches in your dreams. A chilling and unforgettable book.”
—Dan Chaon, author of Sleepwalk

“An ice cold, deadpan zeitgeist nightmare, Michael J. Seidlinger knows, and shows, that even in a lockdown moment, home is the most dangerous place of all. Watch out. Too late. They’re watching you.”
—Kathy Koja, author of Dark Factory

Anybody Home? is Natural Born Killers for a generation that grew up on Funny Games,The Purge, and Twitter. An incisive commentary on how, in our culture, everything eventually gets mediatized—and a how-to guide to some of the darkest corners of that process, one that implicates you even as you read it.”
—Brian Evenson, author of Song for the Unraveling of the World

“In Michael J. Seidlinger’s Anybody Home? your security alarm and cameras are positioned to betray you. Our invaders and our victims have been chosen carefully to perform in this meticulous, intoxicating, and brutal tale of home invasion.”
—Cynthia Pelayo, three-time Bram Stoker Award® nominated author of Children of Chicago

“With this sinister and alluring story of home invasions, Michael Seidlinger has invented a new type of horror novel, one that simultaneously chronicles the characters’ transgressions and the audience’s reactions. It’s a searing commentary on voyeurism and mass media, as well as a riff on Michael Haneke’s Funny Games that outdoes the original. Read it with the doors locked.”
—Jeff Jackson, author of Destroy All Monsters

“Seidlinger pulls no punches in delivering gut-wrenching horror as he drives the novel to its bloody conclusion. Fans of Jack Ketchum and Samantha Kolesnik will want to check this out.”
Publishers Weekly

“This addictive deconstruction of the home invasion is so thorough and chilling, Seidlinger may as well have slammed the door on the entire genre. But beyond the torture and violation, Anybody Home? is a nuanced study of the creative process, exploring what it takes to create art that truly resonates.”
—B.R. Yeager, author of Negative Space

“In Anybody Home?, Michael J. Seidlinger so masterfully crafts an atmosphere of pure terror that it had me checking to make sure my front door was locked, for fear of home invaders—or maybe Seidlinger himself.”
—Rob Hart, author of The Paradox Hotel